Home Business President Ramaphosa appoints new SABC Board

President Ramaphosa appoints new SABC Board

by centra
0 comment

President Cyril Ramaphosa has appointed the board of Directors of the South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) for five years, effective from the date of the publication of notice in the government gazette.

The President has, in terms of section 13(1) of the Broadcasting Act, 1999 (Act No.4 of 1999), as amended, appointed the following persons as non-executive members of the Board of SABC:

  • Dr. Renee Horne
  • Adv Tseliso Thipanyane;
  • Mr Khathutshelo Ramukumba;
  • Ms. Nomvuyiso Batyi;
  • Ms Phathiswa Magopeni;
  • Ms. Aifheli Makhwanya;
  • Ms Magdalene Moonsamy;
  • Ms. Rearabetsoe Motaung;
  • Mr. David Maimela;
  • Mr Dinkwanyane Mohuba;
  • Mr Mpho Tsedu; and
  • Ms Palesa Kadi


In terms of section 13(3) of the Act, President Ramaphosa designated Mr Khathutshelo Ramukumba as Chairperson and Ms Nomvuyiso Batyi as the Deputy Chairperson of the SABC Board.

“The SABC is a vital institution of our constitutional democracy. I trust the newly appointed board members will work hard at ensuring that South Africa continues to benefit from a stable, independent and effective national public broadcaster,” President Ramaphosa said. – SAnews



DO YOU HAVE A NEWS STORY OR AN OPINION FOR CENTRAL NEWSE-mail us : newsroom@centralnews.co.za or Whatsapp us on 0814955487

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept