Free State Premier MaQueen Letsoha-Mathe to Announce New MECs for the 7th Administration on Thursday

by Selinda Phenyo
0 comment
The African National Congress (ANC) and its Women's League (ANCWL) in the Free State are celebrating the election of MaQueen Letsoha-Mathae as the new Premier of the province. This achievement is not just a win for the ANC but also a resounding victory for women's empowerment in South Africa.

By Phenyo Selinda

MaQueen Letsoha-Mathe

The newly elected Premier of the Free State, MaQueen Letsoha-Mathe, is scheduled to announce the new Members of the Executive Council (MECs) for the 7th Administration on Thursday, 20 June 2024, at 1pm.

The official announcement of MECs will be followed by a swearing-in ceremony, presided over by the Judge President of the Free State Division of the High Court.

Initially, the press conference was slated for Tuesday at 5pm, but the premier surprisingly moved it to an urgent announcement at 4pm that very day. Reports indicate that the delay stems from internal conflicts, as factions within the ruling party continue to battle it out for strategic positions.

Adding fuel to the fire is a leaked list of the potential executive members, which has already taken social media by storm. Notably absent from the list is Mxolisi Dukwana, the chairperson of the ANC in the province and Letsoha-Mathe’s predecessor. Dukwana is rumoured to be poised to replace Zanele Sifuba as the Speaker of the Legislature, a significant deviation from his prior roles.

The said leaked list outlines a reduction in the provincial cabinet from ten members to eight, sparking further speculation and intrigue. The Deputy Speaker of the Free State Legislature, Mamiki Maboya, is set to take on the portfolio of MEC for Education and Social Development, according to the unofficial sources.

Another notable absentee on the list is Mathabo Leeto, the current MEC for Health and Treasurer of the ANC in the province. She is expected to step into the role of Deputy Speaker of the Legislature.

Leaked List of Members of the Executive Council:

  1. Toto Makume – MEC for Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (COGTA) & Human Settlements
  2. Dibolelo Mance – MEC for Public Works and Infrastructure
  3. Elsabe Rockman – MEC for Finance and Economic Development
  4. Jabu Mbalula – MEC for Health
  5. Oupa Khoabane – MEC for Tourism, Sports & Culture
  6. Saki Mokoena – MEC for Community Safety, Roads, and Transport
  7. Zama Sigwebela – MEC for Agriculture and Environmental Affairs
  8. Mamiki Maboya – MEC for Education and Social Development

However, given the postponement of the press conference, this list remains speculative and subject to change. This is a developing story

Letsoha-Mathae Maqueen
Free State Premier MaQueen Letsoha-Mathe to Announce New MECs for the 7th Administration on Thursday 7

Central News Weekly Edition 058: Download the latest weekly edition of Central News Print and Digital Newspaper. Top Story : “Free State Tourism CEO Dichabe Grilled on Fraud and Corruption Findings”

Download Here:

Read all our publications on magzter:


Central News also offers Sponsored Editorial Content, Podcasts , Radio / Social Media Simulcast, Video Production , Live Streaming Services, Press Conferences, and Paid Interviews (Video/Audio) etc.

We guarantee exceptional exposure, reach, and engagement, with an excellent return on investment.


To place your advert on our platforms (Print Newspaper or Digital Platforms) : Please email :

For Business Related:

Send your Stories / Media Statements To:

General Info:

Office Administrator:

Whatsapp / Call: 081 495 5487


Social Media Platforms (@centralnewsza) : LinkedinFacebookTiktokTwitterInstagramYoutube

#centralnewsza #freestate

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept